Portrait de Laure Prouvost
You are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust, Vue de l'exposition
Studio des Acacias
30, rue des Acacias
75017 Paris
Dates
October 2018

You are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust was born from a collaboration between curator Martha Kirszenbaum and the artist Laure Prouvost, selected to represent France at the 2019 Venice Biennale.

Laure Prouvost’s immersive films, installations, drawings and wallpapers, combining the representation of desire, onirism and a fantasized description of nature, jeopardize our relationship to language and understanding through the intrication of complex narratives and surrealist moments that feed her unusual approach to the conventions of cinema and image.

PARTNERSHIP MazarineGroup
SCENOGRAPHY La Mode en Images

 

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost gives particular importance to language and its representation, and brilliantly masters this way of playing with words.

She strives to make visible the unimportant objects, those that the consumer system that governs our daily lives has left behind: residues, rubbish, broken or dysfunctional objects, unloved. You Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust reveals the two sides of the same coin, through a diptych of videos that were presented through a resin-based installation, objects such as relics, a motorcycle, an LED or a vodka bar evoking the two environments, one rural and French, the other urban and American.

We Will Go Far
Laure Prouvost

Lick In The Past
Laure Prouvost

We Will Go Far
Laure Prouvost

"When we move by night at the speed of desire With you at the wheel my limit goes higher
Just turn me on, you turn me on
You are my petrol, my drive, my dream, my exhaust."
Combining representation of desire, oneirism and fantasized description of nature, Laure Prouvost's immersive films, installations, drawings and tapestries jeopardize our relationship to language and understanding through the entanglement of complex narratives and moments surrealists who nourish his unusual approach to the conventions of cinema and image.
Indeed, Laure Prouvost attaches particular importance to language and its representation in her films. She brilliantly masters this way of playing with words, stretching them, deconstructing them before assembling them again and reinjecting them into the story.
— Martha Kirszenbaum

Portrait de Laure Prouvost
You are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust, Vue de l'exposition
Acacias Art Center
30, rue des Acacias
75017 Paris
Dates
Octobre 2018

You are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust était née d’une collaboration entre la commissaire Martha Kirszenbaum et l’artiste Laure Prouvost, sélectionnée pour représenter la France à la Biennale de Venise 2019.

Mêlant représentation du désir, onirisme et description fantasmée de la nature, les films immersifs, les installations, les dessins et les tapisseries de Laure Prouvost mettent en péril notre relation au langage et à la compréhension à travers l’intrication de narrations complexes et de moments surréalistes qui nourrissent son approche, inhabituelle, des conventions du cinéma et de l’image.

PARTENAIRE MazarineGroup
SCENOGRAPHIE La Mode en Images

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure Prouvost You Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure Prouvost You Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost

Laure ProuvostYou Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust

Laure Prouvost accorde une importance particulière au langage et à sa représentation, et maîtrise avec brio cette manière de jouer avec les mots.

Elle s’attache à rendre visible les objets sans importance, ceux que le système de consommation qui régit nos vies quotidiennes a laissés aux oubliettes : les résidus, les détritus, les objets cassés ou dysfonctionnant, mal aimés. You Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust révèle les deux faces d’une même médaille, et ce à travers un diptyque de vidéos qui étaient présenté au travers d’une installation à base de résine, des objets tels que des reliques, une moto, un LED ou encore un bar à vodka évoquant les deux environnements, l’un rural et français, l’autre urbain et américain.

We Will Go Far
Laure Prouvost

Lick In The Past
Laure Prouvost

We Will Go Far
Laure Prouvost

"When we move by night at the speed of desire With you at the wheel my limit goes higher
Just turn me on, you turn me on
You are my petrol, my drive, my dream, my exhaust."
Mêlant représentation du désir, onirisme et description fantasmée de la nature, les films immersifs, les installations, les dessins et les tapisseries de Laure Prouvost mettent en péril notre relation au langage et à la compréhension à travers l’intrication de narrations complexes et de moments surréalistes qui nourrissent son approche, inhabituelle, des conventions du cinéma et de l’image.
En effet, Laure Prouvost accorde dans ses films une importance particulière au langage et à sa représentation. Elle maîtrise avec brio cette manière de jouer avec les mots, de les étirer, de les déconstruire avant de les assembler à nouveau et de les réinjecter dans le récit.
— Martha Kirszenbaum