Maty Biayenda - Reiffers Art Initiative

Maty Biayenda

Aged only 20 years, Maty Biayenda is a young French-Congolese artist.

Buy back the block

Maty Biayenda, 2018

Le Café

Maty Biayenda, 2018

Portrait de famille

Maty Biayenda, 2018

Untitled

Maty Biayenda,

Untitled

Maty Biayenda, 2017

Dont fetishize

Maty Biayenda, 2019

Biography

Born in 1998 in Namibia, Maty Biayenda left her hometown of Angoulême to attend a preparatory class in Paris to ensure her admission to the Ecole des Beaux-Arts.
Born into a family of artists, her creativity has only increased over the years. Fascinated by the paintings of Manet and Matisse, as well as Senegalese filmmakers such as Djibril Drop or Ousmane Sémbène, she learned from an early age to sharpen her creative perception and curiosity in many fields. As a French-Congolese and transgender woman, Maty Biayenda says that questioning her identity over the past 3 years has led her to return to her roots and her African culture.
“The French are very attached to skin color. You are either black or mixed race. In high school, some of my teachers did not understand my desire to work on black culture. They told me that I was not black. They said that drawing exclusively black women was reverse racism. But my only weapon is my pencil, which is why I want to help change its narrative and bring people out of ignorance. If we don’t do this work, who will?” — Maty Biayenda

Texts

Translated from "Biayenda, the teenager who drew black women"
("Biayenda, l’ado qui dessinait les femmes noires") par Sephora Lukoki
— Nothing But The Wax, 2017

"Oils on A4 paper sheets, some of Maty Biayenda's drawings could almost be reminiscent of the hand painted signs in West African hairdressing salons. But the comparison ends there. This young artist's work captures slices of young Afro-European women’s daily life. An implicit tackle to the monolithic and cliché way they are usually represented. But also a refreshing and fair response to the many challenges brought by our time, with accents of #BlackLivesMatter or #Bodypositivity, and the need for LGBT inclusion or representativeness in the media. 'I felt the need to defend us, black youth, from a different perspective. My drawings reflect both the generation to which I belong and my feminine side. My artistic practice speaks about the world I live in.' Showing her illustrations to an audience wasn't really part of the plan. 'My brother introduced me to Instagram when I was 15.' And the social network turned into an unvoluntary springboard for her. Her creations had such a positive impact and echo that requests for interviews, collaborations or even exhibitions were quick to arrive. Instagram has become her gallery. "

Maty Biayenda - Reiffers Art Initiative

Maty Biayenda

Âgée de seulement 20 ans, Maty Biayenda est une jeune artiste franco-congolaise.

Buy back the block

Maty Biayenda, 2018

Le Café

Maty Biayenda, 2018

Portrait de famille

Maty Biayenda, 2018

Untitled

Maty Biayenda,

Untitled

Maty Biayenda, 2017

Dont fetishize

Maty Biayenda, 2019

Biographie

Née en 1998 en Namibie, Maty Biayenda a quitté sa ville de naissance, Angoulême, pour rejoindre une classe préparatoire à Paris afin d'assurer son admission à l'école des Beaux Arts.
Née dans une famille d'artistes, sa créativité n'a fait que s'accroître au fil des années. Fascinée par les peintures de Manet et de Matisse, ainsi que les réalisateurs sénégalais tels que Djibril Drop ou Ousmane Sémbène, elle apprend dès son plus jeune âge à affiner sa perception créative et sa curiosité dans de nombreux domaines. En tant que Franco-Congolaise et femme transgenre, Maty Biayenda affirme que les questionnements sur son identité ces 3 dernières années l'ont amenée à retourner à ses racines et sa culture africaine.
"Les Français sont très attachés à la couleur de peau. On est soit noir, soit métisse. Au lycée, certains de mes professeurs ne comprenaient pas mon désir de travailler sur la culture noire. Ils me disaient que je n'étais pas noire. Ils affirmaient que dessiner exclusivement des femmes noires était un racisme inversé. Mais ma seule arme est mon crayon, c'est pourquoi j'ai envie de contribuer à changer ce récit et sortir les individus de l'ignorance. SI nous ne faisons pas ce travail, qui le fera?" — Maty Biayenda

Textes

"Biayenda, l’ado qui dessinait les femmes noires" par Sephora Lukoki
— Nothing But The Wax, 2017

"Réalisés à l’huile sur des feuilles de papier A4, certains des dessins de Maty Biayenda pourraient presque rappeler les enseignes peintes à la main dans les salons de coiffure d’Afrique de l’Ouest. Mais la comparaison s’arrête là. Le travail de cette jeune artiste saisit des tranches de vie dans le quotidien de jeunes femmes afro-européennes. Un tacle implicite à la façon monolithique et clichée dont on les représente habituellement. Mais aussi une réponse rafraîchissante et juste aux nombreux défis portés par notre époque, aux accents de #BlackLivesMatter ou #Bodypositivity, et devant la nécessité d’inclusion des LGBT ou de représentativité dans les médias. 'J’ai ressenti le besoin de nous défendre, nous la jeunesse noire, sous un prisme différent. Mes dessins reflètent aussi bien la génération à laquelle j’appartiens que mon côté féminin. Ma pratique artistique parle du monde dans lequel je vis.'

Montrer ses illustrations à un public ne faisait pas vraiment partie du plan. « Mon frère m’a initié à Instagram quand j’avais 15 ans. » Et le réseau social s’est transformé pour elle en un tremplin involontaire. Ses créations ont eu un impact et des échos tellement positifs que les demandes d’interviews, de collaborations ou même d’expositions n’ont pas tardé à arriver. Instagram est devenu sa galerie."