Studio
des Acacias

The Studio des Acacias is a home for artists. It is a natural home for their exhibitions, as part of a demanding artistic program as well as during the mentorship program organized by the Reiffers Art Initiatives Endowment Fund.

From Laure Prouvost's immersive installations to Matthew Day Jackson's monumental works, or Benjamin Millepied's dance holograms on a Barbara Kruger set, the Studio des Acacias will now host the Mentor & Jeune Talent exhibition and the Reiffers Art Initiatives Endowment Fund's Group Show twice a year.
Soukhos<br><br><span>Raphaël Barontini</span><br><br>July 2021
Soukhos<br><br><span>Raphaël Barontini</span><br><br>July 2021

Soukhos

Raphaël Barontini

July 2021

The result of his LVMH Métiers d'Art residency, Raphaël Barontini's SOUKHOS exhibition was organized in partnership with Reiffers Art Initiatives and with the support of the Mariane Ibrahim gallery. Raphaël Barontini is a 36 years old artist who graduated from the Beaux-Arts de Paris and the Hunter College of Art in New York.
His work of "creolization" of images has already been exhibited by many museums and galleries around the world, including through remarkable performances in the United States in Savannah, Fort Worth or very recently Chicago.in his protean work, the artist constantly questions the relationship between art and craft, East and West, and politics. In 2020, he was selected by LVMH Métiers d'Art for an artist residency at the heart of the Heng Long tannery,
in Singapore, renowned for its exceptional expertise and know-how in tanning and finishing crocodilian leather. All of the works created during the residency as well as several representative pieces of the artist's work were presented at the Studio des Acacias by Mazarine in July 2021.

Raphaël Barontini, 2020

Raphaël Barontini, 2020

Raphaël Barontini, 2020
YOU ARE MY PETROL, MY DRIVE, MY DREAM, MY EXHAUST<br><br><span>Laure Prouvost<br><br></span>October 2018
YOU ARE MY PETROL, MY DRIVE, MY DREAM, MY EXHAUST<br><br><span>Laure Prouvost<br><br></span>October 2018

YOU ARE MY PETROL, MY DRIVE, MY DREAM, MY EXHAUST

Laure Prouvost

October 2018

You are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust was born of a collaboration between curator Martha Kirszenbaum and artist Laure Prouvost, selected to represent France at the 2019 Venice Biennale. Combining representations of desire, dreamlike imagery, and fantastical depictions of nature, Laure Prouvost's immersive films and installations, drawings, and tapestries challenge our relationship to language and understanding through
the intertwining of complex narratives and surreal moments that feed her unusual approach to the conventions of film and image. The artist attaches particular importance to language and its representation, and brilliantly masters this way of playing with words. She tries to make visible the unimportant objects, those that the system of consumption which governs our daily lives has left to the oblivion: the residues, the detritus, the broken or dysfunctional objects, unloved.
You Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust reveals the two sides of the same coin, and this through a diptych of videos that were presented through an installation based on resin, objects such as relics, a motorcycle, an LED or a vodka bar evoking the two environments, one rural and French, the other urban and American.

Laure Prouvost, 2018

Laure Prouvost, 2018

Laure Prouvost, 2018

Laure Prouvost, 2018
REFLECTIONS REDUX<br><br><span>Benjamin Millepied & Barbara Kruger</span><br><br>October 2017
REFLECTIONS REDUX<br><br><span>Benjamin Millepied & Barbara Kruger</span><br><br>October 2017

REFLECTIONS REDUX

Benjamin Millepied & Barbara Kruger

October 2017

The Studio des Acacias presented "Reflections Redux", an exceptional exhibition by Benjamin Millepied and Barbara Kruger combining holographic projections, films and immersive scenography. The event was inaugurated during the FIAC 2017 week. In the Studio des Acacias, the impressive visual environment created by artist Barbara Kruger for her ballet "Reflections" (2013) was recreated for the occasion.
More than just a set, Benjamin Millepied offered an unprecedented immersive experience. Invited to enter a completely redesigned Studio des Acacias, the visitor is immersed like a dancer in the heart of Barbara Kruger's scenography. The ballet's three-dimensional reactivation is complete: light effects, music and above all holographic projection of four
scenes from "Reflections". The dancers in L.A. Dance Project thus appeared in the form of holograms to create the key moments of the ballet within the exhibition.

Benjamin Millepied & Barbara Kruger, 2017

Benjamin Millepied & Barbara Kruger, 2017

Benjamin Millepied & Barbara Kruger, 2017
New American Art<br><br><span>Rashid Johnson & Matthew Day Jackson</span><br><br>October 2015
New American Art<br><br><span>Rashid Johnson & Matthew Day Jackson</span><br><br>October 2015

New American Art

Rashid Johnson & Matthew Day Jackson

October 2015

On the occasion of the Fiac 2015, the Studio des Acacias invited two of the most talented representatives of American contemporary art, Rashid Johnson and Matthew Day Jackson.
The two artists Rashid Johnson and Matthew Day Jackson, who invested the Studio des Acacias with unpublished works, share a certain vision of the American dream, an America often criticized, synonymous with imperialism and hegemony, between racial struggles and World War II.
Paul-Emmanuel Reiffers, President of Mazarine Group and Founder of Studio des Acacias, wanted to bring together Matthew Day Jackson and Rashid Johnson, whom he has been following for several years, in this exhibition conceived and produced in collaboration with the Hauser & Wirth gallery.

,

,

,
The Portraits<br><br><span>Guy Bourdin</span><br><br>April 2016
The Portraits<br><br><span>Guy Bourdin</span><br><br>April 2016

The Portraits

Guy Bourdin

April 2016

Widely acclaimed as one of the greatest photographers of the second half of the 20th century and a brilliant inventor of fashion and advertising images, Guy Bourdin produced several of his photographic projects at the Studio des Acacias. "Guy Bourdin: The Portraits" is a selection of the most personal works ever shown in Paris since his death in 1991, showcasing rare images produced between 1950-1980. Curated by the eminent historian Shelly Verthime, this exhibition features over 150 photographs shot by the artist that are both intimate and personal.
Early black and white photographs–greatly influenced by Surrealism but little-known–stand alongside Bourdin’s more iconic, timeless photographs, while a special showcase of personal Super-8 films from his personal collection complete the show. The "Guy Bourdin: The Portraits" exhibition highlights the central role played by Surrealism in the photographer's work. Influenced by his close relationship with Man Ray,
Guy Bourdin's first portraits laid the foundations of his visual language and Surrealist approach, both signatures of his style in later years. Bringing to a close forty years of Guy Bourdin's artistic research, the exhibition ends with his colour press and advertising photography, which revolutionised fashion photography at the end of the 20th century.

"Guy Bourdin : The Portraits", 2016

"Guy Bourdin : The Portraits", 2016

"Guy Bourdin : The Portraits", 2016
Drop Shadow<br><br><span>Mark Handforth</span><br><br>October 2014
Drop Shadow<br><br><span>Mark Handforth</span><br><br>October 2014

Drop Shadow

Mark Handforth

October 2014

From his Miami studio, the heir to the pop art generation, has worked on one of the hijackings of everyday life and street furniture of which he has the secret. The exhibition of Mark Handforth proposed to explore the theme of light in the artist's work.
Between Pop Art and Minimalism, the British artist took over the space, with his monumental and luminous works that humorously diverted objects from everyday life.
Often woven with phosphorescent lights, his sculptures crossed their fires with those of the roofs of Paris visible under the glass roof of the Studio des Acacias.

Mark Handforth, 2014

Mark Handforth, 2014

Mark Handforth, 2014

Studio
des Acacias

Le Studio des Acacias est une demeure pour les artistes qui accueille leurs expositions, notamment dans le cadre d’une programmation artistique ainsi qu’au cours du programme de mentorat organisé par le Fonds de dotation Reiffers Art Initiatives.

Des installations immersives de Laure Prouvost aux œuvres monumentales de Matthew Day Jackson, ou aux hologrammes de danse de Benjamin Millepied sur un décor de Barbara Kruger, le Studio des Acacias accueillera désormais chaque année, deux fois par an, l’exposition “Mentor et Jeune Talent” et l’exposition Group Show du Fonds de dotation Reiffers Art Initiatives.
Soukhos <br><span>Raphaël Barontini</span><br>Juillet 2021
Soukhos <br><span>Raphaël Barontini</span><br>Juillet 2021

Soukhos
Raphaël Barontini
Juillet 2021

Fruit de sa résidence artistique LVMH Métiers d’Art, l’exposition “SOUKHOS” de Raphaël Barontini s’est organisée en partenariat avec Reiffers Art Initiatives et avec le soutien de la galerie Mariane Ibrahim. Raphaël Barontini est un artiste plasticien de 36 ans, diplômé des Beaux-Arts de Paris et du Hunter College of Art de New York.
Son travail de “créolisation” des images a déjà été exposé par de nombreux musées et galeries de par le monde, notamment à travers des performances remarquables réalisées aux États-Unis, à Savannah, Fort Worth ou très récemment à Chicago. Dans son travail protéiforme, le plasticien questionne constamment les rapports art-artisanat, Orient-Occident, onirique-politique… En 2020, il a été sélectionné par LVMH Métiers d’Art pour une résidence d’artiste au cœur de
la tannerie Heng Long à Singapour, réputée pour son expertise et son savoir-faire exceptionnels en matière de tannage et de finition du cuir crocodilien. L’ensemble des œuvres réalisées en résidence ainsi que plusieurs pièces représentatives du travail de l’artiste ont été présentées au Studio des Acacias by Mazarine en juillet 2021.

Raphaël Barontini, 2020

Raphaël Barontini, 2020

Raphaël Barontini, 2020
“YOU ARE MY PETROL, MY DRIVE, MY DREAM, MY EXHAUST”<br><span>Laure Prouvost</span><br>octobre 2018
“YOU ARE MY PETROL, MY DRIVE, MY DREAM, MY EXHAUST”<br><span>Laure Prouvost</span><br>octobre 2018

“YOU ARE MY PETROL, MY DRIVE, MY DREAM, MY EXHAUST”
Laure Prouvost
octobre 2018

“You are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust” est né d’une collaboration entre la commissaire d’exposition Martha Kirszenbaum et l’artiste Laure Prouvost, sélectionnée pour représenter la France à la Biennale de Venise 2019. Mêlant représentation du désir, onirisme et description fantasmée de la nature, les films immersifs, les installations, les dessins et les tapisseries de Laure Prouvost mettent en question, voire en péril, notre relation au langage et à la compréhension à travers
l’intrication de narrations complexes et de moments surréalistes qui nourrissent son approche, inhabituelle, des conventions du cinéma et de l’image. L’artiste accorde une importance particulière au langage et à sa représentation, et maîtrise avec brio cette manière de jouer avec les mots. Elle s’attache à rendre visible les objets sans importance, ceux que le système de consommation qui régit nos vies quotidiennes a laissés aux oubliettes : les résidus, les détritus, les objets cassés ou qui dysfonctionnent,
mal-aimés. “You Are My Petrol, My Drive, My Dream, My Exhaust” révèle les deux faces d’une même médaille, et ce à travers un diptyque de vidéos qui étaient présentées dans une installation à base de résine, d’objets tels que des reliques, une moto, une LED ou encore un bar à vodka évoquant deux environnements, l’un rural et français, l’autre urbain et américain.

Laure Prouvost, 2018

Laure Prouvost, 2018

Laure Prouvost, 2018
“REFLECTIONS REDUX”<br><span>Benjamin Millepied et Barbara Kruger</span><br>octobre 2017
“REFLECTIONS REDUX”<br><span>Benjamin Millepied et Barbara Kruger</span><br>octobre 2017

“REFLECTIONS REDUX”
Benjamin Millepied et Barbara Kruger
octobre 2017

Le Studio des Acacias a présenté “Reflections Redux”, une exposition exceptionnelle de Benjamin Millepied et Barbara Kruger mêlant projections holographiques, films et scénographie immersive. L’événement a été inauguré à l’occasion de la semaine de la FIAC 2017. Au sein du Studio des Acacias, l’environnement visuel impressionnant imaginé
par l’artiste Barbara Kruger pour son ballet “Reflections” (2013) fut recréé pour l’occasion. Plus qu’un simple décor, Benjamin Millepied proposait une expérience immersive sans précédent. Invité à pénétrer dans un Studio des Acacias totalement réaménagé, le visiteur est plongé, tel un danseur, au cœur de la scénographie de Barbara Kruger.
La réactivation en trois dimensions du ballet est complète : jeux de lumière, musique et surtout projection holographique de quatre scènes issues de “Reflections”. Les danseurs de L.A. Dance Project apparaissaient ainsi sous la forme d’hologrammes pour réaliser, au sein de l’exposition, les moments clés du ballet.

Benjamin Millepied et Barbara Kruger, 2017

Benjamin Millepied et Barbara Kruger, 2017

Benjamin Millepied et Barbara Kruger, 2017
New<br>American Art<br><span>Rashid Johnson et Matthew Day Jackson</span><br>octobre 2015
New<br>American Art<br><span>Rashid Johnson et Matthew Day Jackson</span><br>octobre 2015

New
American Art
Rashid Johnson et Matthew Day Jackson
octobre 2015

À l’occasion de la FIAC 2015, le Studio des Acacias a invité deux des plus talentueux représentants de l’art contemporain américain, Rashid Johnson et Matthew Day Jackson.
Les artistes Rashid Johnson et Matthew Day Jackson, qui investissaient le Studio des Acacias avec des œuvres inédites, ont en commun une certaine vision du rêve américain, une Amérique souvent critiquée, synonyme d’impérialisme et d’hégémonie, entre luttes raciales et Seconde Guerre mondiale.
Paul-Emmanuel Reiffers, Président de Mazarine Group et fondateur du Studio des Acacias, a souhaité réunir Matthew Day Jackson et Rashid Johnson, auxquels il s’intéresse depuis plusieurs années, dans cette exposition conçue et réalisée en collaboration avec la galerie Hauser & Wirth.

Rashid Johnson et Matthew Day Jackson, 2015

Rashid Johnson et Matthew Day Jackson, 2015

Rashid Johnson et Matthew Day Jackson, 2015
The Portraits<br><span>Guy Bourdin</span><br>avril 2016
The Portraits<br><span>Guy Bourdin</span><br>avril 2016

The Portraits
Guy Bourdin
avril 2016

Unanimement reconnu comme l’un des plus grands photographes du demi-siècle et le plus brillant créateur d’images de mode et de publicité, Guy Bourdin a réalisé plusieurs de ses séries au Studio des Acacias. “Guy Bourdin: The Portraits” est l’exposition publique la plus personnelle organisée à Paris depuis sa mort en 1991, avec une sélection inédite d’œuvres comprises entre les années 50 et les années 80. Sous la direction de l’historienne Shelly Verthime, l’exposition rassemblait plus de 150 photos de l’artiste sous un angle intime et personnel.
Ses œuvres de jeunesse en noir et blanc, largement influencées par le surréalisme, souvent méconnues, côtoyaient ses photographies les plus emblématiques et intemporelles, ainsi que des films super-8 issus de sa collection personnelle. L’exposition “Guy Bourdin: The Portraits” a mis en avant le rôle central qu’a joué le surréalisme dans l’œuvre du photographe.
Influencés par ses liens étroits avec Man Ray, les premiers portraits de Guy Bourdin posaient les bases de son langage et de sa démarche surréaliste, qui deviendront à terme une de ses signatures stylistiques. Pour conclure ce voyage retraçant les quarante ans de recherche artistique de Guy Bourdin, l’exposition se terminait sur des photos couleur pour la presse et la publicité, qui ont révolutionné la photographie de mode de la fin du XXe siècle.

“Guy Bourdin: The Portraits”, 2016

“Guy Bourdin: The Portraits”, 2016

“Guy Bourdin: The Portraits”, 2016
Drop Shadow<br><span>Mark Handforth</span><br>octobre 2014
Drop Shadow<br><span>Mark Handforth</span><br>octobre 2014

Drop Shadow
Mark Handforth
octobre 2014

Depuis son atelier de Miami, l’héritier de la génération pop art a travaillé sur l’un des détournements du quotidien et et du mobilier urbain dont il a le secret. Mark Handforth a proposé d’explorer le thème de la lumière dans l’œuvre de l’artiste.
Entre pop art et minimalisme, l’artiste britannique a investi l’espace avec ses œuvres monumentales et lumineuses qui détournaient, non sans humour,
les objets du quotidien. Souvent tramées de lumières phosphorescentes, ses sculptures croisaient leurs feux avec ceux des toits de Paris, visibles sous la verrière du Studio des Acacias.

Mark Handforth, 2014

Mark Handforth, 2014

Mark Handforth, 2014